Google is discontinuing its dark web monitoring service that tracked data breaches for personal information.
Google has informed users via email that it will discontinue its dark web reports starting next month. This opt-in feature, which alerted users when their personal information was detected on the dark web, will cease scanning for data such as contact details and home addresses on January 15th. Any data collected will no longer be accessible to users after February 16th.
The email to those enrolled in the feature states, “While the report offered general information, feedback showed that it did not provide helpful next steps. We’re making this change to instead focus on tools that give you more clear, actionable steps to protect your information online.”
Originally launched as a benefit for Google One subscribers in 2023, dark web reports were made available to all Google account users in 2024 and were integrated into Google’s “results about you” page. Unfortunately, this feature was only active for just over a year before its discontinuation. Users are encouraged to utilize the “results about you” page and Google’s Security Checkup feature as alternatives. Additionally, there are other services, like Have I Been Pwned, that can monitor the dark web for any data breaches involving your information.
Here’s the complete message sent to users of the dark web report:
> We are discontinuing the dark web report, which was meant to scan the dark web for your personal information. It will stop monitoring for new results on January 15, 2026, and its data will no longer be available from February 16, 2026. While the report offered general information, feedback showed that it did not provide helpful next steps. We’re making this change to instead focus on tools that give you more clear, actionable steps to protect your information online. We will continue to track and defend you from online threats, including the dark web, and build tools that help protect you and your personal information.
> On February 16, 2026, the report will no longer be available and all related data will be removed. If you wish to remove your monitoring profile earlier, you can learn how to do so here.
> In the meantime, we encourage you to use the existing tools we offer to strengthen your security and privacy, including Security and Privacy Checkups, Passkey, 2-Step Verification, Google Password Manager, and Password Checkup. We encourage you to also use Results about you, which can be used to find and request the removal of your personal information from Google Search results, like your phone number and home address. Generally, we’ll continue to offer tips and tools to help you stay safe online.
> Thank you,
The Google team